Post new topic   Reply to topic    Courserrim on Landroval Forum Index -> The Crafting Hall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Daffodilia

re: Shared Storage Info

I mentioned last night to Miss Bredhe that I would be posting something about shared crafting storage on another kins' site, and would it help if I posted the same on the Courserrim?  I offered to share some tips, screenies and such, and she said yes, so here's t' a long read!  Ya have some tea, right?  And some cookies?  If not, go get some before ya start reading.  Ya'll thank me laters.

I am not an expert on this.  I am someone who has been doing this with two groups with differing focus on their storage for a few years now, so I have a bit of experience in such matters.  There are some things we've tried; some things folks still try to do because it works better for them, darnit, even if everyone else wants to throttle them for doing it; and I'm sure many things we haven't thought to try. 

One thing I want to stress is that undertaking such a thing is daunting not only in the set up, but in the maintenance over the long haul.  Not only do you have to keep up maintenance so folks can continue to access it easily, but inventory management is a beast unto itself.  Do not let the downfall moments crush your spirits.  Do not call out or /throttle someone who either hasn't learned the system yet, or doesn't understand why the system you put in place is important for everyone--no matter how many times they do it.  Curl into a ball and eat (insert comfort food of choice) until ya feel better instead.  Sharing is a grand thing, so be proud of the good moments more. 

Below you will find: a few points to consider, an explanation about markers* and why they're useful; some vault screenies; info about screenies; and a copy of the "storage rules" for one kin.  Feel free to use or lose whatever works for ya.